Bland Temora

Bland Temora Zone is located within Bland and Temora Local Government areas which are located approximately 5 hours South West of Sydney. Bland and Temora areas are predominately sheep wheat areas which are surrounded by a mix of grass lands and undulating country.

Blue Mountains

The population across the district is 75,000 people who live in, or in the vicinity of 27 towns and villages across the Mountains. The local government area covers 143,000 hectares of land in the Greater Sydney Region. About 70 percent of the area is incorporated into the World Heritage Blue Mountains National Park, with approximately 11 percent of the total land area in private ownership.


The Canobolas Zone is located in the Central West of NSW and combines the Rural Fire Districts of Blayney, Cowra, Cabonne and Orange. The Zone covers 10,636 square km including 310 square km under the control of State Forests and 354 square km of National Park. Our area is predominately undulating agricultural grasslands which are used mainly for grazing with the majority of cropping carried out in the in the Cowra District and in the western side of the Zone in the Cabonne area.


Covering an area of 9,595 sq kms, the predominant land in the north of the District is the open and lightly undulating livestock grazing and moderate cropping land. To the south and west of the shire the land becomes steep and mountainous. The east of the District is open land that has been developed into large amounts of small acreages in heavily timbered country that is a mixture of open areas and rolling hills which extends into the wilderness of National Parks.
The Cudgegong District has a population of approximately 23,000 people, it comprises of Mudgee, Gulgong, Kandos and Rylstone with 10 other villages Hargraves, Windeyer, Lue, Wollar, Charbon, Clandulla, Bylong, Ilford, Running Stream and Goolma. Natural and tourist attractions include Frog Rock, The Drip, Hands on the Rock, Burrendong Dam, Munghorn Gap, Goulburn River National Park and Windermere Dam, Dunns Swamp, Wollemi National Park and Ferntree Gully.

Far West

The Far West Team covers the local government areas of Cobar, Central Darling, Bourke, Brewarrina and the vast Unincorporated Area of NSW, a total area of 260,000 sq kms. The main cities and towns include Cobar, Nymagee, Euabalong, Mt Hope, Wilcannia, Ivanhoe, Menindee, Tilpa, Broken Hill, Bourke, Brewarrina, Tibooburra, Enngonia, Louth, Byrock, Wanaaring, Goodooga and Angledool.


The MIA district incorporates the six local government areas of Carrathool, Griffith, Hay, Leeton, Murrumbidgee and Narrandera.
The district is located in the Riverina region in Southern NSW. It is mostly farming land, consisting of flat to undulating terrain with hilly forested areas and river flats along the Murrumbidgee and Lachlan Rivers.

Mid Lachlan Valley

The Mid Lachlan Valley Team (MLVT) is located in the Central West of NSW and combines the Rural Fire Districts of Forbes, Lachlan, Parkes and Weddin and commenced operations on 1 July 2001. The Team Headquarters is based in Forbes and the major towns of Condobolin, Parkes and Grenfell form the local government centres within the area. The total population is approximately 36,000. The MLVT area is predominantly used for primary production including crops such as wheat, barley, oats and canola and stock production. There is also significant mining in the area with several operating mines and plans for future development. The Team covers 29,058 square km including 544 sq kms under the control of State Forests, 369 sq kms of National Park and 27342 sq kms of private land.

Mid Murray

The Mid Murray Zone (MMZ) incorporates the local government areas of Murray River, Edward River, and the Murrumbidgee local government area south of Coleambally.
The MMZ is located in the Southern Riverina, along the NSW Victoria boarder. 97% of the 25,000 square kilometres is grass and farming lands.

North West

The North West Zone and Bogan district cover the four Shires of Bogan (Nyngan), Coonamble, Walgett and Warren. These local government areas cover 57,432 square kilometres. The North West Zone has 81 brigades across the four Shires and over 1,490 members representing the Rural Fire Service. The North West Zone and Bogan District (NWZ) area is largely know for its grazing and farming industries. Tourism and opal mining is a feature of Walgett Shire in particular at Lightning Ridge. Copper and other mineral mining is also a predominate industry in the Bogan Shire. Cotton cropping is carried out in Warren Shire and parts of Walgett District as well as other cereal cropping.


Orana Team is located in the Central Western Region of NSW incorporating the local government areas of Dubbo, Narromine and Wellington. The landscape is predominately flat with some mountainous terrain with the remaining area open woodland. Orana team has 60 Rural Fire Brigades with over 1,919 members. The Team covers 12,803 square km with a population size of 57,000.


The Shoalhaven local government area (LGA) is approximately 4660 kmē, spanning 160 kilometres of coast between Berry in the north to Durras Lake in the south and extends between 30km and 75km inland to the ranges encompassing extensive tracts of dissected sandstone country. Approximately 90% of the Shoalhaven LGA is identified as Bush Fire Prone Land and comprises approximately 27% private land with the remaining tenure as State Forest, National Park, Unoccupied Crown Land and Commonwealth Land.

Southern Highlands

The Southern Highlands Team area is located in South Western Sydney and extends towards the Southern Highlands with its main towns of Bowral, Mittagong and Moss Vale and includes the Local Government Areas of Wollondilly and Wingecarribee Shires.
The area covered by the Southern Highlands Team is 525,700 hectares.

South West Slopes

The South West Slopes Zone takes in the Local Government Areas of Cootamundra, Harden, Young and Boorowa. There are 50 Rural Fire Brigades within the Zone. Grass fuels predominate throughout the Zone with some light and heavily timbered country in the North East.


The Warringah Pittwater District has approximately 1,200 volunteers that provide service to the community through effective Operations, Risk Management, Community Safety, Education and Learning and Development activities, through various roles of Firefighting, Communications, Catering, Logistics, Aviation, Fire Investigation, Cadets and many more.